Valencia and Valentine


"Death was a thing that happened to everyone. Debt collection as a permanent occupation was a thing that happened only to the supremely unlucky, and for her it was a life sentence thrown down from the bench of a pitiless judge. She was being punished—and she deserved it. She'd only ever done one terrible thing, but it was very terrible: she'd killed someone."
_______________________________________
_______________________________________
“Despite themes of loneliness, loss, and mental illness, Krause manages to infuse her tale with charm and gentle humor.” —Booklist



________________________________________________________

“Suzy Krause’s debut novel, Valencia and Valentine, is a warm and unexpected treat.” 
—POPSUGAR

Valencia and Valentine is a beguiling and charming first novel by Suzy Krause.” 
—Authorlink

“Perfect for fans of Maria Semple and Graeme Simsion, Valencia and Valentine is a charming novel with quirky characters the reader can’t help falling in love with. With a unique voice and a fun twist, it’s a story of love, human connection, and adversity that is handled with deftness and compassion by Krause. You’ll think about the characters and their stories long after you turn the final page; in fact, as soon as I finished, I was tempted to go back to the beginning and start it again!” —Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway Girls

Valencia and Valentine is a charming, beautifully told tale of love and loss, disappointments and dreams. You will root for this cast of eccentric characters, ache for them, and celebrate their victories. A terrific debut, sure to delight fans of Gail Honeyman and Fredrik Backman. Irresistible!” —Lori Nelson Spielman, internationally bestselling author of Sweet Forgiveness and The Life List

“A quirky, touching story about two women who, on the surface, are not connected: but life is strange, and nothing is what it appears to be. Perfectly poignant, and for oddballs everywhere.” —Georgia Clark, critically acclaimed author of The Regulars

“What does it take to release your fears and let your life take flight? Suzy Krause tackles this question in her lovely and unexpected debut, Valencia and Valentine. With wit and deep empathy for seemingly ‘difficult’ people, Krause has crafted a heartwarming and life-affirming story.” —Camille Pag├ín, bestselling author of I’m Fine and Neither Are You

“Funny, warm, and deeply insightful, Valencia and Valentine is a must-read for anyone who’s ever struggled with loneliness, OCD or simply being human.” —Kathy Cooperman, bestselling author of Crimes Against a Book Club and The Very Principled Maggie Mayfield

Valencia and Valentine is an exquisitely detailed, intricately woven tale that speaks to the truth at the heart of every good story: love. It will draw you in from the first line and keep you guessing until the very last heartrending page.” —Eliza Gordon, author of Dear Dwayne, With Love

________________________________________________________