Valencia and Valentine

________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________

For readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, debut author Suzy Krause delivers a quirky, colorful story about love, loss, second chances, and what it means to truly live.
Valencia, a timid debt collector with crippling OCD, is afraid of many things, but the two that scare her most are flying and turning thirty-five. To confront those fears, Valencia’s therapist suggests that she fly somewhere—anywhere—before her upcoming birthday. And as Valencia begins a telephone romance with a man from New York, she suddenly has a destination in mind. There’s only one problem—he might not actually exist.
Mrs. Valentine is an eccentric old woman desperate for company, be it from neighbors, telemarketers, or even the funeral director (when you’re her age, you go to a lot of funerals). So she’s thrilled when the new cleaning girl provides a listening ear for her life’s story—a tale of storybook love and incredible adventures around the world with her husband before his mysterious and sudden disappearance.
________________________________________________________

Advance Reviews:


“A quirky, touching story about two women who, on the surface, are not connected: but life is strange, and nothing is what it appears to be. Perfectly poignant, and for oddballs everywhere.” —Georgia Clark, critically acclaimed author of The Regulars


“What does it take to release your fears and let your life take flight? Suzy Krause tackles this question in her lovely and unexpected debut, Valencia and Valentine. With wit and deep empathy for seemingly ‘difficult’ people, Krause has crafted a heartwarming and life-affirming story.” —Camille Pagán, bestselling author of I’m Fine and Neither Are You


“Valencia and Valentine is a charming, beautifully told tale of love and loss, disappointments and dreams. You will root for this cast of eccentric characters, ache for them, and celebrate their victories. A terrific debut, sure to delight fans of Gail Honeyman and Fredrik Backman. Irresistible!” —Lori Nelson Spielman, internationally bestselling author of Sweet Forgiveness and The Life List


“Perfect for fans of Maria Semple and Graeme Simsion, Valencia and Valentine is a charming novel with quirky characters the reader can’t help falling in love with. With a unique voice and a fun twist, it’s a story of love, human connection, and adversity that is handled with deftness and compassion by Krause. You’ll think about the characters and their stories long after you turn the final page; in fact, as soon as I finished, I was tempted to go back to the beginning and start it again!” —Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway Girls

“Funny, warm, and deeply insightful, Valencia and Valentine is a must-read for anyone who’s ever struggled with loneliness, OCD or simply being human.” —Kathy Cooperman, bestselling author of Crimes Against a Book Club and The Very Principled Maggie Mayfield


“Valencia and Valentine is an exquisitely detailed, intricately woven tale that speaks to the truth at the heart of every good story: love. It will draw you in from the first line, and keep you guessing until the very last heart-rending page.” —Eliza Gordon, author of Dear Dwayne, With Love