Books



VALENCIA AND VALENTINE (June 1, 2019)
Valencia, a timid debt collector with crippling OCD, is afraid of many things, but the two that scare her most are flying and turning thirty-five. To confront those fears, Valencia’s therapist suggests that she fly somewhere—anywhere—before her upcoming birthday. And as Valencia begins a telephone romance with a man from New York, she suddenly has a destination in mind. There’s only one problem—he might not actually exist.
Mrs. Valentine is an eccentric old woman desperate for company, be it from neighbors, telemarketers, or even the funeral director (when you’re her age, you go to a lot of funerals). So she’s thrilled when the new cleaning girl provides a listening ear for her life’s story—a tale of storybook love and incredible adventures around the world with her husband before his mysterious and sudden disappearance.
The stories of Valencia and Mrs. Valentine may at first appear to have nothing in common…but then again, nothing in life is as straightforward as it seems.

__________________________________________________________________

“Suzy Krause’s debut novel, Valencia and Valentine, is a warm and unexpected treat.” —POPSUGAR
Valencia and Valentine is a beguiling and charming first novel by Suzy Krause.” —Authorlink
“Despite themes of loneliness, loss, and mental illness, Krause manages to infuse her tale with charm and gentle humor.” Booklist
“A singularly unique, superbly scripted, and inherently entertaining novel by an author with a distinctively reader engaging narrative storytelling style…” —Midwest Book Review
“Perfect for fans of Maria Semple and Graeme Simsion, Valencia and Valentine is a charming novel with quirky characters the reader can’t help falling in love with. With a unique voice and a fun twist, it’s a story of love, human connection, and adversity that is handled with deftness and compassion by Krause. You’ll think about the characters and their stories long after you turn the final page; in fact, as soon as I finished, I was tempted to go back to the beginning and start it again!” —Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway Girls
Valencia and Valentine is a charming, beautifully told tale of love and loss, disappointments and dreams. You will root for this cast of eccentric characters, ache for them, and celebrate their victories. A terrific debut, sure to delight fans of Gail Honeyman and Fredrik Backman. Irresistible!” —Lori Nelson Spielman, internationally bestselling author of Sweet Forgiveness and The Life List
“A quirky, touching story about two women who, on the surface, are not connected: but life is strange, and nothing is what it appears to be. Perfectly poignant, and for oddballs everywhere.” —Georgia Clark, critically acclaimed author of The Regulars
“What does it take to release your fears and let your life take flight? Suzy Krause tackles this question in her lovely and unexpected debut, Valencia and Valentine. With wit and deep empathy for seemingly ‘difficult’ people, Krause has crafted a heartwarming and life-affirming story.” —Camille Pagán, bestselling author of I’m Fine and Neither Are You
“Funny, warm, and deeply insightful, Valencia and Valentine is a must-read for anyone who’s ever struggled with loneliness, OCD or simply being human.” —Kathy Cooperman, bestselling author of Crimes Against a Book Club and The Very Principled Maggie Mayfield
Valencia and Valentine is an exquisitely detailed, intricately woven tale that speaks to the truth at the heart of every good story: love. It will draw you in from the first line and keep you guessing until the very last heartrending page.” —Eliza Gordon, author of Dear Dwayne, With Love
_______________________________________________________

SORRY I MISSED YOU (June 2, 2020)

When Mackenzie, Sunna, and Maude move into a converted rental house, they are strangers with only one thing in common—important people in their lives have “ghosted” them. Mackenzie’s sister, Sunna’s best friend, and Maude’s fiancé—all gone with no explanation.
So when a mangled, near-indecipherable letter arrives in their shared mailbox—hinting at long-awaited answers—each tenant assumes it’s for her. The mismatched trio decides to stake out the coffee shop named in the letter—the only clue they have—and in the process, a bizarre kinship forms. But the more they learn about each other, the more questions (and suspicions) they begin to have. All the while, creepy sounds and strange happenings around the property suggest that the ghosts from their pasts might not be all that’s haunting them…
Will any of the housemates find the closure they are looking for? Or are some doors meant to remain closed?
Quirky, humorous, and utterly original, Sorry I Missed You is the perfect read for anyone who has ever felt haunted by their past (or by anything else).
__________________________________________________________________

Sorry I Missed You is so quirky and original, full of humor, wit, and warmth. I loved how three such different women forged a genuine friendship—and of course, that mystery. A real page-turner.” —Josie Silver, New York Times bestselling author of One Day in December
“A quirky, original story about unexpected friendship and the power of hope, Sorry I Missed You is a gem of a book.” —Phaedra Patrick, internationally bestselling author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper and The Library of Lost and Found
“Quirky, original, hilarious, and poignant, Sorry I Missed You is an unforgettable read with a knockout premise. With ghosts from their pasts, and perhaps real ones in their present, four strangers connect through one rental unit and their combined searches for someone who has disappeared from each of their lives. Inspiring and heartwarming, this novel is an absolute must-read!” —Samantha M. Bailey, author of Woman on the Edge
“Full of charming antics, amateur sleuthing, a riveting mystery, and a letter that triangulates the central characters—you’ll find mischief, ghosts, tragedy, and triumph as you root for the reluctant, unlikely inhabitants that share the same abode. Written with humorous affection for the emotionally downtrodden, Sorry I Missed You is a beautifully told tale of missed opportunity and regret, friendship and second chances, and the importance of human connection. Poignant, funny, and utterly irresistible!” —Julie Valerie, author of Holly Banks Full of Angst
Sorry I Missed You is a ghost story, a mystery and a comedy featuring three mismatched roommates and their feckless landlord who ultimately learn from one another how their own fears have held them back far more than imagined ones. It’s a fun and breezy read.” —Lorna Landvik, author of Chronicles of a Radical Hag (With Recipes)
_______________________________________________________