• Books

    Every time you buy a book, an angel gets its wings.

    BUY IT NOW

    Valencia and Valentine

    A debt collector with crippling OCD and a lonely, elderly woman—at first they don't seem to have much in common, but few things in life are what they first appear to be.

     

    “Despite themes of loneliness, loss, and mental illness, Krause manages to infuse her tale with charm and gentle humor.” Booklist

    “Suzy Krause’s debut novel, Valencia and Valentine, is a warm and unexpected treat.” —POPSUGAR

    Valencia and Valentine is a beguiling and charming first novel by Suzy Krause.” —Authorlink

    “A singularly unique, superbly scripted, and inherently entertaining novel by an author with a distinctively reader engaging narrative storytelling style…” —Midwest Book Review

    “Perfect for fans of Maria Semple and Graeme Simsion, Valencia and Valentine is a charming novel with quirky characters the reader can’t help falling in love with.” —Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway Girls

    “A terrific debut, sure to delight fans of Gail Honeyman and Fredrik Backman. Irresistible!” —Lori Nelson Spielman, internationally bestselling author of Sweet Forgiveness and The Life List

    “Perfectly poignant, and for oddballs everywhere.” —Georgia Clark, critically acclaimed author of The Regulars

    “A heartwarming and life-affirming story.” —Camille Pagán, bestselling author of I’m Fine and Neither Are You

    BUY IT HERE:

    BARNES & NOBLE / CHAPTERS / AMAZON.COM / INDIEBOUND

    Sorry I Missed You

    When Mackenzie, Sunna, and Maude move into a converted rental house, they are strangers with only one thing in common—important people in their lives have “ghosted” them. Mackenzie’s sister, Sunna’s best friend, and Maude’s fiancé—all gone with no explanation.

    So when a mangled, near-indecipherable letter arrives in their shared mailbox, hinting at long-awaited answers, each tenant assumes it’s for her and the trio decides to stake out the coffee shop named in the letter—the only clue they have. But the more they learn about each other, the more questions (and suspicions) they begin to have. All the while, creepy sounds and strange happenings around the property suggest that the ghosts from their pasts might not be all that’s haunting them…

     

    Sorry I Missed You is so quirky and original, full of humor, wit, and warmth. I loved how three such different women forged a genuine friendship—and of course, that mystery. A real page-turner.” —Josie Silver, New York Times bestselling author of One Day in December

    “A quirky, original story about unexpected friendship and the power of hope, Sorry I Missed You is a gem of a book.” —Phaedra Patrick, internationally bestselling author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper and The Library of Lost and Found

    “Quirky, original, hilarious, and poignant, Sorry I Missed You is an unforgettable read with a knockout premise.” —Samantha M. Bailey, author of Woman on the Edge

    “Full of charming antics, amateur sleuthing, a riveting mystery, and a letter that triangulates the central characters—you’ll find mischief, ghosts, tragedy, and triumph as you root for the reluctant, unlikely inhabitants that share the same abode.” —Julie Valerie, author of Holly Banks Full of Angst

    Sorry I Missed You is a ghost story, a mystery and a comedy featuring three mismatched roommates and their feckless landlord who ultimately learn from one another how their own fears have held them back far more than imagined ones. It’s a fun and breezy read.” —Lorna Landvik, author of Chronicles of a Radical Hag (With Recipes)

    PRE-ORDER:

    BARNES & NOBLE / CHAPTERS / AMAZON.COM / INDIEBOUND

  • .

  • ABOUT ME

    Hi! My name is Suzy Krause...

    I'm a writer and a music lover from the Saskatchewan prairies. I've been blogging for over a decade, but I also write, from time to time, on various arts, entertainment, and lifestyle websites. Writing a whole book has been on my to-do list since I was six-ish, so it feels pretty good to have finally done it.

     

    Valencia and Valentine was inspired by my time working as a debt collector in Saskatoon (I received a lot of death threats that summer) and the song Heart by Stars. Sorry I Missed You, not a sequel to V&V, is my second crack at fiction, and it'll be out on June 1, 2020 (please hold your horses; these things take time).

     

    (June 1 is my big brother's birthday, so it's cute that I keep publishing books on that day, huh?)

     

     

     

  • This is where I write pretty much whatever I want whenever I want to write it—usually it has to do with my family or publishing stuff or something strange that happened or a dream I had or a place I went or a thought I had that felt profound at the time but definitely wasn't.

  • EVENTS

    Come hang!

    Event Type: Workshop

    Plotting in Scrivener

    Find out how to use Scrivener to its full potential - for plotting, organizing, editing, and beyond - as Suzy walks us through exercises to plot our own novels. Bonus: Scrivener is offering a discount on their software for all attendees.

    Event Type: Workshop

    Editor and Agent Insights

    In this workshop, published author Suzy Krause will talk about the necessary steps to finding and working with a literary agent—a valuable career relationship for any author, and a necessity if you are interested in being published by any of the larger traditional publishing houses and/or selling your work in international markets. She'll cover query letters, finding and vetting the right agent for your work and career, agent/author relationships, how the agent will work with you to submit your manuscript to a publishing house, and what happens after you're offered a contract. A workshop for those who are dreaming big!

  • CONTACT

    Questions? Comments? Snide remarks?

    krausesuzy@gmail.com