• HOW DO YOU LET SOMEONE GO WHEN YOU DON'T KNOW WHY THEY LEFT?

     

    When Mackenzie, Sunna, and Maude move into a converted rental house, they are strangers with only one thing in common—important people in their lives have “ghosted” them. Mackenzie’s sister, Sunna’s best friend, and Maude’s fiancé—all gone with no explanation.

    So when a mangled, near-indecipherable letter arrives in their shared mailbox, hinting at long-awaited answers, each tenant assumes it’s for her and the trio decides to stake out the coffee shop named in the letter—the only clue they have. But the more they learn about each other, the more questions (and suspicions) they begin to have.

    All the while, creepy sounds and strange happenings around the property suggest that the ghosts from their pasts might not be all that’s haunting them…

     

    “Sorry I Missed You is so quirky and original, full of humor, wit, and warmth. I loved how three such different women forged a genuine friendship—and of course, that mystery. A real page-turner.”

    —Josie Silver, bestselling author of One Day in December

     

  •  

    Have you ever been ghosted—had someone disappear from your life without an explanation? Maybe it was a friend who slowly started drifting away over time, an ex, or a onetime date who ended the relationship without giving a reason? Well, I certainly have (and you know who you are). Regardless of who they were to you, one thing remains the same—closure can be difficult to come by when you don’t know why you were abandoned in the first place.

    In Sorry I Missed You, this is exactly the situation that brings three housemates together who have absolutely nothing else in common—Sunna, Maude, and Mackenzie. Each woman has been ghosted by someone important to her, so when an unaddressed letter shows up at their rental building promising answers, each woman hopes desperately it’s for her. At the same time, weird things are happening around the rental house—almost enough to make them wonder if their pasts are the only things that are haunting them. Thus begins this quirky, hilarious, and endearing journey of unlikely friendship and the quest for closure.

    In this charming novel, Suzy Krause has created a cast of characters that readers can’t help but fall in love with, a storyline that is completely fresh and original, and a heartwarming message that will resonate near and far—perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove. Sorry I Missed You may not give you the answers you’ve been waiting on from your own ghosts, but it will leave you with something even better—hope.

    - Alicia Clancy, Editor, Lake Union Publishing

     

     

  • VALENCIA DOESN'T THINK ABOUT DEATH TOO MUCH—IF ANYTHING, NO ONE ELSE THINKS ABOUT IT ENOUGH.

     

    (Mrs. Valentine absolutely thinks about death too much. It is her favorite thing to think about.)

     

    When Valencia’s therapist challenges her to take a flight on her thirty-fifth birthday, she's at a loss for where to go—until she falls in love with a man over the phone at the debt collection center where she works. The problem is, she’s not entirely sure the man exists...and she’s deathly afraid of getting on an airplane.

    Mrs. Valentine isn’t afraid to fly—she’s been everywhere there is to go. And on one of those trips, her own worst fear came true: she lost the love of her life.

    The only thing Valencia and Mrs. Valentine have in common is death—one fears it, one has made peace with it. But maybe they both still have a thing or two to learn about it...

    “Perfectly poignant, and for oddballs everywhere.”

    —Georgia Clark, critically acclaimed author of The Regulars

     

    “Despite themes of loneliness, loss, and mental illness, Krause manages to infuse her tale with charm and gentle humor.” —Booklist​

     

    BOOKSHOP / BARNES & NOBLE / CHAPTERS / AMAZON.COM / INDIEBOUND / TARGET / PENNY UNIVERSITY

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

  •  

    There’s a difference between being alive and living. This is a story about living.

    When it comes to fiction, the first thing to win me over is the author’s voice—the feeling that it almost doesn’t matter what’s happening in the story itself because the way in which it’s being told is so utterly captivating. Debut novelist Suzy Krause has one of those rare voices that completely sucked me in from page one—both humorous and serious, lighthearted and thoughtful, smart and accessible.

    Even better, Krause’s characters are equally as charming as her voice is. I found myself enraptured by Valencia’s resilience and wholeheartedly rooting for her to realize that she is worthy and deserving of happiness. And I was completely enchanted by Mrs. Valentine’s eccentricity and vibrant sense of life (despite her being near the end of it).

    For fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and A Man Called Ove, this quirky novel is almost certain to deeply resonate with readers around the world. With the perfect blend of humor and heart, Krause expertly explores themes of mental health, aging, guilt, forgiveness, adventure, love, and second chances. And with a twist I didn’t see coming, the ending left me reaching for the tissue box, smiling through my tears.

    Valencia and Valentine is a beautiful reminder that despite the bad things that can happen in life, there is still love and hope and laughter to be found in the world. This special novel made me realize that it’s not enough to merely be alive—I want to truly live.

    - Alicia Clancy, Editor, Lake Union Publishing

  • May I write you a letter?

    Join the newsletter for (incredibly sporadic) updates on my books, events, promotions, and the odd giveaway.